Sliver of "Hope" by Sophia Gonzalez

Niles North artists receive 54 awards (!!) in the 97th annual Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

The Belin-Blank Center at the University of Iowa announced the regional award recipients of the 2020 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Presented by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious scholarship and recognition program for creative teens across the country in grades 7–12. This year, more than 330,000 works of art and writing were submitted to 100 Affiliate regions across the country. Since 1923, the Awards have fostered the talent of millions of students and feature a distinguished list of alumni including Andy Warhol, Stephen King, Kay WalkingStick, Joyce Carol Oates, Charles White, and Tschabalala Self, all of whom received recognition through the program when they were teens.

For Gold Key works of art and writing in the Awards’ 29 categories, the opportunities for recognition will continue when those works are adjudicated again on a national level by a panel of leading creative professionals. National Gold Medalists will be announced in March 2020 and will be honored during a special awards ceremony at New York City’s Carnegie Hall in June 2020.

The following Niles North students earned Gold Keys: Jillian Shor, drawing and illustration; Kirsten Ng, ceramics and glass; Elina Callas, mixed media; Ilhana Kisija, drawing and illustration; Nathan Miron, photography; and Olivia Yoshioka, photography (2).

The following students earned Silver Keys: Cecelia Yoo, printmaking; Jeremiah Kodavatikanti, printmaking; Lanie Mae Rasay, mixed media; Lauren Sonnier, painting; Melanie Hong, ceramics and glass; Ali Bhatti, photography; Amela Perazic, photography; Brooke Rickett-Green, drawing and illustration; Cameron Murzyn, photography; Charlize Antonesi, digital art; Ezekiel Cordeiro, photography (2); Jordan Podolsky, photography; Julia Kendziora, photography (2); Kieran Micari-Lawless, photography; Nina Malhotra, photography(2); Olivia Hilby, photography; Rebeca Bran, photography; Safeena Khan, photography, and Sophia Gonzalez, digital art.

Honorable Mentions went to: Cecelia Yoo, digital art; Marissa Benesa, printmaking; Olivia Yoshioka, design; Saira Shamim, printmaking; Charmaine Melegrito, painting; Dyllan Bowering, drawing and illustration; Jennifer Le, ceramics and glass; Ava Engstrom, photography; Blessing Eberemichael, photography; Caleb Stirbu, photography; Cameron Murzyn, photography, Elijah Ramos, mixed media; Elina Callas, painting; Gracelyn Sensibar, design; Helga Vigh, photography (2); Julia Kendziora, photography; Kieran Micari-Lawless, digital art and photography; Marika Kalodimos, photography; Michael Lemus, photography (2); Olivia Yoshioka, photography; Seebell Warda, photography; and Maya Levy, writing.

For more information about the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, visit Additional details about the Awards can be found in the Scholastic media room:

See below – selected (award-winning) photography submissions!

"Glow" by Nathan Miron

“Glow” received Gold Key, Nathan Miron

"Hope" by Sophia Gonzalez

“Hope” received Silver Key, Sophia Gonzalez

"Family Love" by Safeena Khan

“Family Love” received Silver Key, Safeena Khan

"Close Up Beauty" by Amela Perazic

“Close Up Beauty” received Silver Key, Amela Perazic

Un Reve en Verre - by Olivia Yoshioka

“Un Reve en Verre” received Gold Key, Olivia Yoshioka