Niles North Distinguished Alumni

Niles North Distinguished Alumnus Award 2018-2019 Nomination

Niles North High School is seeking nominations for the Distinguished Alumnus award. Nominations shall include supporting documentation about the nominee such as achievements in their field, significant contributions to their community, and their association with Niles North.

The award recipient should attend the Niles North Awards of Distinction Program which will be held on May 16, 2019 at 7 p.m. at Niles North High School.

Selection is made based on the following criteria:

  1. Graduated from Niles North.
  2. Attended at least three years of high school at a District 219 high school (this can also include Niles East).
  3. Has made a significant contribution to his or her field and/or in the community, and
  4. Had a meaningful experience as a student at Niles North High School.

Please complete the online form:

Niles North Distinguished Alumnus Award 2018-2019 Nomination

or if you would like to submit a nomination by email or mail, please email the information to Rosamin Bhanpuri at, or mail it to Rosamin Bhanpuri, Niles Township High School 219, 7700 Gross Point Road, Skokie 60077.

We will be accepting nominations until February 22, 2019.

Past Years’ Alumni Awards

2018 – Gregg Fleisher, ’79

Gregg Fleisher graduated from Niles North in 1979. Inspired by his favorite statistics teacher, Gregg attended the University of Illinois and earned a Bachelor of Science in Accounting. Gregg began his career as an auditor and actuary, but found his true passion when he became a high school math teacher. He taught for 14 years and found success teaching AP Calculus. While  teaching, Gregg started Advanced Placement Strategies, a non-profit aimed at helping students access and pass AP exams in math, science, and English—with a special focus on serving students farthest from opportunity. His small nonprofit morphed into the National Math and Science Initiative – a large, national non-profit serving over 2 million students to date. Gregg currently serves as the President and CEO of Reasoning Mind, an Ed Tech company that designs interactive, online blended learning programs for elementary math students with the goal of cultivating higher level thinking skills and igniting student interests in math, while preparing them for advanced courses.

Gregg’s advice to the class of 2018 is to choose what you love to do—and everything else will work out. He believes that if he continued as an actuary, he would have been set financially, but pursuing what he loved has led to a career that has been fulfilling, impactful, and has provided him with opportunities that he would never have imagined. He is thankful for his experience at Niles North because it put him on a path where he is proud of what he does, and allows him to serve society in a meaningful way.

2017 – Dr. Mark Rasenick, ’67
2016 – Marina Pazin, ‘00
2015 – Maxine Winer, ’79
2014 – Julie Smolyansky, ’93
2013 – David Ko, ’97
2012 – Dr. Michael Ruchim, ’72
2011 – Michael Kim, ’74
2010 – Dean Klassman, ’74
2009 – Pankaj Sharma, ’98
2008 – David Walton, ’94
2007 – Marc Silverman, ’89
2006 – Ross Deutsch, ’79
2005 – Carrie Hightman, ’75
2004 – Paul Toback, ’81
2003 – David Rosengard, ’70
2002 – Michael Jay Margules, ’78
2001 – Lynn Schreiber Price , ’73
“I was honored as a Distinguished alum several years back. Very touching. Most wonderful moment was I didn’t realize it was being televised on the local TV station. In my acceptance speech, I talked about three NN teachers who made a difference in my life. Turns out one of their friends was watching the show, called her, and subsequently I received a letter from her. Wonderful to be able to say thank you so many years later. “. Lynn (Schreiber) Price, -73
2000 – Marc Schulman, ’72
1999 – Howard Friend, ’69
1998 – The Hon. Louis Lang, ’67
1997 – Edie Turovitz Kasten, ’75
1996 – Michael Krasny, ’71
1995 – Jay Footlik, ’83
1994 – Allen Sutker & Mark Polinsky, ’79
1993 – Neal Sabin, ’74
1992 – Irene Suzukida, ’70
1991 – Capt. Daniel L. Ley, ’77
1990 – Paul Lisnek, ’76
1989 – Dr. Steven Gitelis, ’69